Summer Fun (or something like it)

Remember when you were a kid and the word “Summer” brought thoughts of fun, sun and play? Well, I have discovered that my idea of summer is outdated; at least in the eyes of my kids.

As a kid, all I wanted to do during my summer was play, read, and have fun.  There were chores and other activities too but once those were finished the summer day s stretched in front of me as with endless possibilities.  We played badmitton, rode bikes, made mudpies and walked up and down the family “hill” to visit grandparents, aunts/uncles and cousins.  We blew bubbles and ate watermelon in the back yard and spent many hours shucking corn, snapping beans and shelling peas under trees with the knowledge that dinner was going to be good.

My kids have different ideas of summer.  It seems to be a time of inside play, complaining and wanting to be plugged into some type of electronic entertainment.    This may be their idea of summer but this Momma has other plans.  Each day we have outside play time where they are slowly learning to use their imaginations, we have book time and yes even some plugged in time.  I am attempting to teach my kiddos that fun can be made, by yourself.  Experiences are what you make of them and Summer is for fun without a cord.

 

Leave a Reply

