Depression and Anxiety

I have never been one to shy away from the truth.  I have depression and anxiety – it is a daily struggle and it is something that many people deal with on a daily basis.  I am not ashamed to admit that I deal with these two problems.

Many people assume depression means being sad or not being able to deal with your daily life and for some people that is exactly what it is but that is not all depression is.  For me, there are days when I can’t function – getting out of bed is a struggle some days, other days are almost normal I seem happy just quiet not really able to verbalize, and there are still other days when I seem to have it all together, I am up and moving and seem to be perfectly happy but real reason I am up and moving is because as long as I am moving I am ok for that moment.  Of course, like most depression diagnosed people, I do have good days where I feel normal and things are great.  Often the good days are more frequent than the bad days.  What I am saying may be cliche’ – Depression looks different for different people and on different days.  There is no one set look/for depression. We all look different, we all deal in different ways.  Just like God made us all different – depression is different for everyone.

I once had someone tell me I could not have depression because I didn’t look sick.  News flash – I look fairly healthy, a little pale, circles under my eyes but normal, not sick.  Don’t assume that someone is okay or not okay based on what you see.  Look at their actions.

Anxiety is a whole other cookie to crumble.  Anxiety is not all OCD and panic attacks although I do have exhibit those two particular traits.  I also get short of breath and feel like I am having an asthma attack, I get really quiet and nervous and often feel the need to eat ice cream in order to calm my nerves.  I know others who stay inside their homes and can’t leave or be around people.  I need to get out and be out of the house when an attack hits – inside the house the walls start to close in and that makes the panic worse.

There are lots of treatments for these two issues and they aren’t all for everyone.  There are medications both prescription and alternative, therapy, groups, bible studies, exercise, journaling, and the list could go on and on and one.  There is not one set pill for everyone and we all react differently to meds so they may not be for everyone.  Personally, I use a combination of treatments including medications, exercise, bible study and therapy as needed.  I am not ashamed to tell the world this, instead if this touches base with one individual then I have done some good.

I guess the main point of this post is this – it is okay to deal with these issues, it is okay to say ” I need help”, it is okay to say “no”, it is okay to get help and to need therapy or meds or whatever treatment works because you only have one life to live and you may as well enjoy it.

HUGS to everyone dealing with these.

Leave a Reply

